Canada is a country in the northern part of North America. It is bordered by the United States of America both to the south and to the west (Alaska). By area, Canada is the second largest country in the world. Canada consists of ten provinces and three territories. Ottawa is the capital of Canada.

Canada is the second largest country in the world in land area, after Russia. It has the longest border with water (coastline) of any country in the world. It is next to the Pacific, Arctic, and Atlantic Oceans.

It is made up of ten provinces and three territories, and has six time zones. It extends from the west coast, across the prairies and central Canada, to the Atlantic provinces. In the north there are three territories, stretching between Alaska and Greenland. Four of the five Great Lakes (Superior, Huron, Erie, and Ontario) are shared between Canada and the United States (Lake Michigan is in the USA), and they make up 16% of the Earth's fresh water.

By Ana Herrera, Paula Mendaro, Cristina Díaz and Lucía San Miguel.


English and French are the two official languages of Canada. According to figures of the population census of 2011, 75% of the population speaks English (24.8 million Canadians) and 23% speak French (7.7 million people).

It is also estimated that English is the mother tongue of 58% of Canadians (19.1 million people), and the French the 22% of the population (7, 2 million).
Most French-speaking Canadians live mainly in Quebec, the only province where French is the official language. New Brunswickes the only province that stands out as the only officially bilingual country.

Some foreign languages spoken in Canada are:
Punjabi 1.3% (460,000 people)
Chinese: 1.28% (441,000 people)
Spanish: 1.24% (439,000 people)
Italian: 1.23% (438,000 people)